My journey in the realm of art began in 2004, a trifle late in life but nevertheless I was happy that it began.

I was working at Interpub Advertising and began to draw on an A4 sheet. It would be cumbersome to paint in the office and drawing with a black pen was an obvious choice!

My drawing wasn’t anything to write home about, so I referred to pictures and did some drawings on Alabaster sheets. I had learnt the ‘stippling technique’ at college, so handling the pen wasn’t difficult. I made about 6 to 8 drawings in all.

I wished to exhibit my work in a gallery but soon found out that to get a gallery booking wasn’t easy. While strolling down the art gallery area of Kala Ghoda, Colaba, I came across an open-air, pavement art gallery called Art Plaza, a haven for upcoming artists to display their work, that too free of any cost!

IMGP0004

A brain child of Late K. M. Shenoy, Late S. T. Mali, Shri Jal Mehta and with ample support from the BMC commissioner Late Sadashiv Tinaikar and Camlin, an art stationary company, Art Plaza was formed in 1988 to encourage budding artistes and to give them a platform to exhibit their art. 

I met a man named Om Rajput and another by the name of Pradip Raut; both eminent artists. They saw my work and gave me the dates for my first exhibition. 

Pradip Raut has been a great influence for me. He guided me, as he does all upcoming artists about how one must be methodical in our approach to art. Study of the subject, exploring its possibilities, improving the painting techniques; so on and so forth.

When Pradip Raut talks, all one has to do is listen and listen carefully. He is a treasure trove of knowledge and doesn’t hold anything that comes to his mind about art but shares it all.

My very first exhibition did fairly well. I realized that there are certain collectors who like Pen and Ink drawings. They prefer to see and buy such drawings. Moreover, I could get accustomed to the experience of displaying my work. I learnt many aspects of Art such as framing, transportation, taking care of my work and much more.

Thanks Art Plaza. I owe my brush with art to you!

Memories (1)

House on a hill

Sundown

 

Rocks in the Sun...

House under the trees

Ganesha the deity