I felt saturated doing the same bit each day, each passing year and needed to break away from the routine work of designing”, he says.

As luck would have it, an opportunity fell in his lap, literally. He had gone for an interview for the post of a Senior   Visualiser at Ad Suraj, Pune. After a general chat, the CEO of that firm said, “I think you can become a good Copywriter”.   

 “But who will give me a job as one?” he asked in surprise.

“I will”, the CEO said.

“I don’t have a single line as testimony”,he blurted.

Upon which he said, “That’s alright”.

Actually he was looking for someone who can be multi-talented. Do client servicing, manage press releases, guide the designer AND write copy.

That is exactly how it happened. I ‘became’ a Copywriter. My English was passable but not perfect, grammatically I was a wreck but a quick learner that I was, I learned rather fast.

Honest, managing so many tasks each day was tough. Often I would be on tenterhooks. But I persisted. That man changed the course of my professional life. I wasn’t academically qualified to be a copywriter. However, soon I realized that it wasn’t about writing copy. It was about concepts.

Copywriting or writing in general has been the happiest phase of my professional life.