Academic qualifications can educate, they can’t stir the true artist within you. Something similar happened with me. The urge to draw, to paint was alive yet dormant. What irony, I began to express in visual arts almost 10 years later.

Beginning with simple line drawings on A4 sheets, I expressed with a black ball point pen. Hardly did I know that those early lines would chart out my path to self expression. I explored the power of black ink further by doing some intricate drawings and abstracts before advancing to the world of colors.

“Watercolor means more water and less color”, my mentor told me. Indulging in this medium was fun and I painted the mega-city Mumbai in a series of paintings. This city has the Arabian seas on one side and road and rail tracks on the other. Color blue is prominent in this series of paintings to denote the reflection of the sea. It depicted various architectural monuments, people and their celebrations and the busy life of Mumbai citizens.

Honest, I had tried my hand at watercolor many times before and failed miserably. I wanted to do this medium so badly that even after failing, I persisted. And my wish was fulfilled one day when I did this small painting of a Taxi facing a huge building. I had finally learnt how to paint with watercolor!

The small TAXI painting that encouraged me to do more watercolor.

The small TAXI painting that encouraged me to do more watercolor

Like I believe, it’s the journey that beckons and I wish to further explore the sphere of art.

Special mention

There’s something I have always tried to do as far as the opening of exhibitions is concerned; give it an opening it deserves, in the literal sense. Yes, I always have wanted someone to cut the ribbon.

When I joined RAKA advertising, initially I wasn’t exactly friendly with my CEO Sushil Bahl, however with much anticipation when I asked him if he would open my exhibition, he only referred to his diary and asked me what time it is.

Knowing that he was a CEO of company and must be moving in the upper circle of the society, I told him it’s a pavement art gallery and not the closed, air-conditioned and most-sought-after galleries of Mumbai. It hardly mattered to him and as if ignoring what I said, consented to it.

Welcoming the Master of ceremony!

Welcoming the Master of ceremony!

Sushil Bahl, CEO, RAKA Advertising breaking the auspicious coconut

Sushil Bahl, CEO, RAKA Advertising breaking the auspicious coconut

DSC00780

My wife and daughter at the exhibition

DSC00775

My colleagues attended the exhibition in good number

Anna Samoylenko, a poetess by heart…

12039170_10207997500760286_6796921725984513716_o

She is from Kiev, Russia. Tall, charming, beautiful… but it doesn’t end there. She is talented and that counts more than anything else. The first time we chatted seemed to be like we knew each other for years. She spoke about her life in Russia, the turmoil of a society and how it affected her personal life, but mostly about Art.

She is artistic herself and appreciates anyone who does art. I spoke to her about my upcoming show and she asked me to send her little information about the locale and images of paintings once they were ready for framing.

When I asked her the reason, she simply said ‘she would like to write poetry on each of them’. I was moved. Please take note, she is a Russian but once you read the poems, you will agree that she has a great command of English language. She has learnt English language and literature at Kiev National Linguistic University.

Worli Sealink Image0140 (1) (1)

Worli-Bandra Sea Link

In our web-based century
Do happen things of fairytales:
Just think that now to cross a sea
There is no need of ship or sails!
A crazy dream came finally true:
I go away off beaten track
By a brand-new wondrous sea road
From Worli to Bandra and back.

VT Station Image0195 (1)

Victoria Terminus

I’ve been dreaming of this day for such a while:

To see at last this city of the legend.

I got over endless, countless miles

And here I am! Let’s not keep VT waiting!

Majestic edifice with splendid, sublime look!

You welcome infinite guests like royal palace

From illustration of some age-old book

And disregard the ever-reigning chaos.

You were the symbol of the Progress in your times,

A solid bridge to not so distant future,

Now you remind us of the glorious past,

And thus, the time and space you easily suture.

Khotachi wadi Image0197-1 (1)

Khotachi Wadi

These quiet streets and courtyards where we live

Like big and clamorous, but loving family,

Where we together laugh, together weep,

And learn to face both victory and defeat,

While children, lost in game, forgot of time

And our mothers called us in to dine,

In these same streets our children will grow up

And thus the link of times will not break up.

Market mumbai Image0091 (1)

Mumbai Market

Hey, look around! Where are we? What’s it?
No, you’re not dreaming, we’re in Mumbai’ street!
Big crowd’s humming, usual city’s din,
Great mix of sounds, mix of everything!
The Indian treasures well-described in fairytales
And ancient legends – you can find them there!
Carmine, light green, indigo, yellow, pink…
Hot tea with sugar, cardamom and milk…
The people flow like river, brisk and jolly,
Turning an ordinary day to Holi
Here’s more than you can sense, perceive or get!
Mumbai’ streets you never will forget!

VT station passengers (1)

Train with passengers

As if one century ago
You took long-distance train,
With whispered words “I’ve got to go”
You make your fond farewell,
Yet you will not  be far for long
I’ll get you by e-mail! 

25012011300 (1)

Dabbawala

I thank the painter for letting me see

This truly rare yet very peaceful scene:

Dabbawalas not rushing to deliver tiffins,

But having their short rest-time in the glee.

Their bodies are relaxed, but not their minds

That keeps in memory all city whereabouts.

These diligent homemade meal service servants

Ignore exhaustion in their daily bouts.

Ganesh visarjan 1 (1)

Ganapati Visarjan

Oh Ganapati! First Word uttered by God,
His wisdom, time-free symbol of creation!
We give you form for we could worship you,
To bring you all our hopes and desperation.
On your infinite wisdom we rely
And seek your answer to our prayers and your guidance,
And then, after Ganesh Chaturthi holiday,
After we have completed our abidance,
We do immerse your body made of clay
Into the Water, source of all created,
For fire within back to the Fire could return –
This end of the recurring circle is predestined.
And when the crowd has consoled themselves from grief
They wait for new birth of Ganesha, dear and belief.